Living Positive Victoria Announces New President

[et_pb_section admin_label=”section”][et_pb_row admin_label=”row”][et_pb_column type=”4_4″][et_pb_text admin_label=”Text” background_layout=”light” text_orientation=”left” use_border_color=”off” border_color=”#ffffff” border_style=”solid”]

Living Positive Victoria is delighted to announce Christabel Millar as the new President of the organisation. Her appointment makes her the youngest and the first female to govern the organisation in this role.

“Living Positive Victoria is where I first began my engagement in the HIV community,” said Millar. “To represent the organisation that has strengthened my resilience as an HIV-positive person and allowed me to stand up for what I believe in is an extraordinary privilege.”

Ms Millar has served as a Director on the Living Positive Victoria Board for the past three years. Her commitment to the HIV sector is far reaching and she’s participated in local and international initiatives including speaking at the 2017 International AIDS Candlelight Memorial, being a National Association of People with HIV Australia (NAPWHA) delegate to the Australian Federation of AIDS Organisation (AFAO), a graduate of the Positive Leadership Development Institute (PLDI) and most recently the Health Promotion and Communications Coordinator for Positive Women Victoria.

“I’ve been fortunate to learn from, and work alongside incredibly passionate people. It’s an exciting time in the HIV sector and I’m looking forward to working with my peers, colleagues and the HIV community,” said Millar.

Acting CEO Suzy Malhotra is confident about the direction that Christabel will take the organisation into the future.

“Christabel’s commitment to this organisation and the HIV community has been second to none. She has an innate sense of social justice and understands the importance of addressing HIV stigma, building resilience and strengthening the community. We are thrilled to have her as the President of our organisation.”

The Board of Directors follows a 6-3 model where six individuals are elected by Living Positive Victoria members and three individuals are co-opted to diversify the skills and governance of the Board. The recently elected Board members are:

Christabel Millar – President Peter Collins – Treasurer
Jeffery Robertson – Vice-President Anthony Bendall – Director
Rick Fiedler – Secretary Adam Ehm – Director


Outgoing President Richard Keane, who has served as the President for the last two years, is enthusiastic about Christabel taking on the President’s role.

“Christabel has shown her commitment to governance best practice that has become a hallmark of Living Positive Victoria. Her willingness and ability to advocate for all PLHIV at every level of the response is highly valued by us all and I wish her and the new board every success.”

Christabel’s social media profiles can be accessed here: Facebook      LinkedIn

Full media release available here


Living Positive Victoria acknowledges the Traditional Owners of the land where we work and live. We pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging. We celebrate the stories, culture and traditions of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elders of all communities who also work and live on this land.