Members of Living Positive Victoria and the HIV community gathered together to reflect on the organisation’s achievements, introduce the new Board of Directors, launch the new strategic plan and celebrate the winners of the Positive Community Awards at the 2017 Annual General Meeting.

Outgoing President, Richard Keane, chaired the meeting in the presence of 50 members and community allies. 2016-2017 was a busy year for the organisation backing on the successful merge of Straight Arrows and Living Positive Victoria and under the leadership of an intern Board of Directors comprised of Straight Arrows and Living Positive Victoria Directors. The organisation also expanded it’s reach to people living with HIV (PLHIV) in rural Victoria with the addition of a peer support worker, a new program to address the needs of ageing PLHIV and a national photography competition to raise awareness and education towards the damaging effects of HIV related
stigma. Read the 2016-2017 Annual Report here.

The Strategic Plan 2018 and Beyond was also launched and outlined the vision of the organisation which includes the meaningful involvement of PLHIV, responsiveness to all the needs of PLHIV, using a bipartisan approach and having a gender sensitive approach to any work that we do. Read the Strategic Plan: 2018 and Beyond here.

Some familiar faces were announced as the newly elected Board of Directors. The Board of Directors uses a 6-3 model that allows six full members (people living with HIV) to be elected by the membership and three individuals co-oped on to the board to fill any skill gaps. A postal vote was used this year to elect the new Directors. The six members elected to the Board of Directors are (L to R): Anthony Bendall, Rick Fiedler, Christabel Millar, Peter Collins, Jeffrey Robertson and Adam Ehm (not pictured).

The roles of each Director and the remaining co-oped positions will be announced in the coming weeks.

Positive Community Award Winners

The Positive Community Awards are an opportunity for Living Positive Victoria and our community to recognise and celebrate the outstanding service, practice and support of individuals, groups and organisations. Congratulations to this year’s winners.

Volunteer of the Year
Winners: Franz Kunz and James Houghton

Awarded to a volunteer who has provided outstanding service contributing towards our vision of a world where people living with HIV in Victoria live their lives to their full potential, in good health and free from discrimination.


Positive Advocate Award
Winner: Ruan Uys

Awarded to an individual, group or organisation who has made an exceptional contribution to the advocacy for the health, wellbeing and human rights of people living with HIV in Victoria.

President’s Award
Winner: Wayne Hornsby

Positive Speaker Award
Winner: Heather Ellis

Awarded to a member of the Positive Speakers Bureau who has provided outstanding service contributing towards our vision of a world where people living with HIV in Victoria live their lives to their full potential, in good health and free from discrimination

Positive Supporter Award
Winner: Timms Holden

Awarded to an individual, group or organisation who has sponsored or financially supported and empowered our positive community to sustain and build activities and meet emerging needs.

Positive Health and Wellbeing Award
Winner: The Peter Doherty Institute

Awarded to an individual, group or organisation that has made an exceptional contribution to supporting, building and delivering  excellence in health care, research and health promotion initiatives which improve the health and wellbeing of people living with HIV in Victoria.

Positive Champion Award|
Winners: PrEP’d For Change and PrEPaccessNow

Awarded to an individual, group or organisation who has inspired, led and championed for the health and wellbeing of people living with HIV and their contribution towards ending HIV.